World Conference on Oilseed and Vegetable Oil Processing Technology

March 1-5, 1976
Amsterdam, The Netherlands



Sponsored by the American Oil Chemists' Society

WHEN AND WHERE: The World Conference on Oilseed and Vegetable Oil Processing Technology will be held March 1-5, 1976, in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. The technical sessions and exhibits will be at the modern RAI Convention Centre.

PURPOSE: The Conference is planned as a technical discussion of the latest methods for processing oilseeds, meals and fats and oils to finished products. The idea is to bring together technical and operating personnel and expose them to principles and practice in the industry with speakers providing necessary background theory. Elements of the program are also designed to attract suppliers to and customers of the industry.

ORGANIZER: The American Oil Chemists' Society is the Conference organizer. Dr. T.H. Applewhite is conference chairperson, and Drs. C.J.M. Meershoek is local chairperson, acting for Vereniging van Nederlandse Fabrikanten van Eetbare Olien en Vetten (VERNOF).

The following organizations are cosponsoring and supporting the conference: American Oil Chemists' Society, American Soybean Association, Asian Coconut Community, Deutsche Gesellschaft fuer Fettwissenschaft, Fatty Acid Producers Council, Federation of European Oilseed Processors, Federation of Oils, Seeds and Fats Association Ltd., Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, Institut des Corps Gras, International Association of Seed Crushers, International Oil Mill Superintendents Association, International Society for Fat Research, Italian Oil Chemists' Society, Japan Oil Chemists' Society, National Association of Margarine Manufacturers, National Cottonseed Products Association, National Institute of Oilseed Products, National Soybean Processors Association, Oil Technologists Association of India, Oils and Fats Group of the Society of Chemical Industry, Great Britain, Protein Foods and Nutrition Development Association of India, Sunflower Association of America, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service and Foreign Agricultural Service, and Vereniging van Nederlandse Fabrikanten van Eetbare Olien en Vetten (VERNOF).

The Steering Committee includes the following individuals: T.H. Applewhite, Kraftco Corporation R&D (Conference Chairperson; C.J.M. Meershoek, Vereniging van Nederlandse Fabrikanten van Eetbare Olien en Vetten (VERNOF) (Local Chairperson); E.A. Asselbergs, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations; J. Baltes, Deutsche Gesellschaft fuer Fettwissenschaft; S.R. Bartholomew, Sunflower Association of America; H.J. Beckmann, Harshaw Chemie B.V.; B.K. Bullimore, Lyons Central Laboratories; C.M. Cater, Texas A&M University; H.J. Dutton, USDA, Northern Regional Research Laboratory; G.A. Harper, National Cottonseed Products Association; S.J. Hauck, National Soybean Processors Association; J.E. Heilman, Continental Grain Company; J.P. Helme, Institut des Corps Gras; R.T. Jackson, American Soybean Association; J. Lankford, Foreign Agricultural Service; E. Marshack, Eugene Marshack Associates; R. Paoletti, University of Milan; J.E. Randag, International Association of Seed Crushers; D.A. Reffold, Federation of Oils, Seeds and Fats Association Ltd.; and L. Wiedermann, Swift & Company.

The Program Committee is as follows: R.R. Allen, Anderson Clayton Foods; T.H. Applewhite, Kraftco Corporation; A.R. Baldwin, Cargill, Inc.; D. Blankenship, American Soybean Association; A. Blankestijn, Cargill Soja Industrie B.V.; J. Boldingh, Unilever Research Laboratory; D.K. Bredeson, French Oil Mill Machinery Company; G.C. Cavanagh, Ranchers Cotton Oil; A. Crossley, Unilever Research Laboratory; H.J. Dutton, USDA, Northern Regional Research Laboratory; K. Fangauf, American Soybean Association; R. Feron, Societe Astra-Calve; R.W. Fischer, Soypro International, Inc.; A.M. Gavin, EMI Corporation; E.R. Hahn, Hahn Laboratories; G.A. Harper, National Cottonseed Products Association; K.E. Holt, Experience Incorporated; C.L. Kingsbaker, Dravo Corporation; K. Klein, DeLaval Separator Company; M.D. Kleyn, H.V.A. International, B.V.; G.W. Kromer, USDA, Economic Research Service; B. Lesieur, Lesieur Cotelle; C.J.M. Meershoek, Vereniging van Nederlandse Fabrikanten van Eetbare Olien en Vetten; A. Mergell, Harburger Oelwerke Brinckman & Mergell; F.A. Norris, Kraftco Corporation; R. Ohlson, AB Karlshamns Oljefabriker; J.L.R. Pritchard, J. Bibby & Sons Ltd.; J.E. Randag, International Association of Seed Crushers; F.E. Sullivan, Sullivan Corporation; P. van Hensbergen, Unilever; F.B. White, Foster Wheeler Corporation; L.H. Wiedermann, Swift & Company; N.H. Witte, Central Soya Company; C.J. Ziel, CPC International Inc.

GENERAL FORMAT: The speakers have been selected because of their expertise in the subject areas of their presentations. Speakers will give papers to all participants in Plenary Sessions. The end of each day will be devoted to discussions in smaller groups.

SMALL GROUP DISCUSSIONS: After the plenary sessions each day, speakers and session chairpersons will be assigned to small group discussion sessions in meeting rooms at the RAI Centre. These sessions will give participants the opportunity to meet with the speakers to ask questions and to discuss more specific aspects of the presentations,

LANGUAGES: English and French are the official conference languages. Simultaneous translation will be provided in these languages. Should the demand for other languages be sufficiently strong, other languages may be added if the organizing committee feels it is advisable. See the registration form.

EXHIBITS: An added feature of the Conference is the exhibit of materials, processes, and suppliers of the industry. Space is available for over 70 exhibit booths. Some of the early exhibitors are as follows: American Soybean Association, Cargill Soya, B.V.M., Construzioni Meccaniche Bernardini, DeLaval Separator Company, Elliott Automation Comapny, Inc., E.M.I. Corporation, French Oil Mill Machinery Company, Harshaw Chemical Company, Shell International Chemical Company, Ltd., Simon Rosedowns, Ltd., Unilever, N.V., and Votator Division, Chemetron Corporation. It is expected that all available space will be sold.

SOCIAL EVENTS: On Monday evening of the Conference, participants will be invited to a reception at one of Amsterdam's famous museums. On Wednesday, participants will be